2015 Conservation Awards of Excellence

Community Award:  Red Squirrel Conservation Services

The Cataraqui Conservation Foundation is pleased to recognize Hearthmakers Energy Cooperative (Red Squirrel Conservation Services) for its longstanding encouragement and facilitation of energy conservation, alternate energy and water conservation in Kingston and area.

Corporate Award: The City of Kingston

The Cataraqui Conservation Foundation is pleased to recognize City of Kingston with the Corporate Conservation Award of Excellence  for its Kingston Climate Action Plan, a  set of strategies to guide community efforts to reduce our greenhouse gas emissions by 352,500 tonnes by 2020 (from base year 2011 projections).


Individual Award: Dr Ted  Hsu

The Cataraqui Conservation Foundation is pleased to recognize Dr. Ted Hsu with a Conservation Award of Excellence for his advocacy of alternate energy and the necessity of sound science to inform public policy.

Conservation Awards

These awards are given annually to an individual or group that has advanced the understanding of the interdependence of all life in the Cataraqui Region Conservation Authority's watersheds and has actively promoted the protection of the natural environment. The award now allows for recognition in five different categories.

The purpose of the award is to recognize service to conservation by individuals, groups and corporations. This service can be through specific projects, long-term practice or other outstanding conservation related activity within the jurisdiction of the Cataraqui Region Conservation Authority.

Details about the five categories are provided below.

Citizen Award

Honours a citizen who has made important efforts to improve the natural environment in the CRCA watershed.

Community/Corporate Award

Honours a community organization, municipality, institution or business that has advanced the understanding of the interdependence of all life in the CRCA watershed and/or has actively promoted the protection of the natural environment.

Education Award

Honours a person, group or institution that has promoted a better understanding of conservation in the CRCA watershed through the education of others.

Stewardship Award

Honours a landowner, whose property is located within the CRCA watershed, and who has demonstrated outstanding stewardship of the natural environment.

Stewart Fyfe Staff Award

Honours a member of the CRCA staff and/or its affiliated organizations who has made an exceptional contribution to conservation in the CRCA watershed.

To Make a Nomination

Nominations must include the nomination form and supporting documentation sufficient to demonstrate to the Cataraqui Conservation Foundation who the nominee is and the significance of their activity.

Materials that may assist in making this demonstration are testimonial letters, media stories, maps and photographs documenting the nominee's accomplishment.

Print the nomination form, complete it, and forward to the address indicated on the form.

Nomination form is available here.

For further information contact the
Cataraqui Conservation Foundation
1641 Perth Road
P.O. Box 160
Glenburnie, Ontario K0H 1S0
Tel: 613-546-4228   Toll Free: 1-877-956-CRCA

A Brief History of the Conservation Award

From 1995 to 2002, the Conservation Award was known as the Ecology Award. The first recipient of the Ecology Award in 1995 was the late Helen Henrikson, whose advocacy and field work was a significant contribution to the protection of the valley lands in the Little Cataraqui Creek valley which flows through the heart of Kingston. From 2000 to 2003, DuPont Canada joined the Foundation as a sponsor of the Award. In 2003, the name of the award was changed to the Conservation Award. In 2010, the award was expanded to include several categories.

Education for Children, Conservation for All

Cataraqui Region Conservation Foundation: Charitable Registration Number: 11884 0545  RR 0001

Previous Award winners
© cataraqui region conservation foundation
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software